The Calgary Flames announce today the winners of the 2019-20 Ralph & Sonia Scurfield Humanitarian Award and the J.R. “Bud” McCaig Award.

The Ralph & Sonia Scurfield Humanitarian Award – SAM BENNETT

This award is presented annually to the Flames player who best exemplifies perseverance, determination and leadership on the ice, combined with dedication to community service off the ice. This is the longest running team award that was originally presented to Lanny McDonald at the conclusion of the 1986-87 season. This year’s recipient is Sam Bennett. Since beginning his NHL career with the Flames in the fall of 2015, Bennett has been a valuable asset to the team and the Calgary community. Prior to the start of the 2017-18 season, Sam approached the Flames with a goal to become an ambassador for Brown Bagging for Calgary Kids. This program supports kids by providing 3,800 healthy lunches daily to those who go to school without enough to eat each day. His goal was to raise awareness, gain financial support and help make 50,000 lunches. In the first year, Bennett and the Flames Foundation donated $70,000 to BB4CK. Sam continues to support the program each year with a $10,000 donation matched by the Calgary Flames Foundation, and visits schools that are supported by the program.

The Scurfield Family devoted their time to the community and was a very important part in bringing the Flames to Calgary in 1980. Sonia was a philanthropist, community leader and business woman whose legacy will be carried on with her children. Sonia is the only Canadian woman to have her name engraved on the Stanley Cup, an accomplishment she achieved as co-owner when the Flames captured the Cup in 1989. Sonia was the wife of prominent Calgary businessman Ralph Scurfield Sr., co-owner of the Calgary Flames, who was tragically lost in a heli-skiing accident. He was recognized as a leader in the Calgary business community and a builder of the University of Calgary business programs. Mr. Scurfield was a true supporter of all sports, and a believer in community involvement.


This award honours two Flames personnel, a player and a staff member, who best exemplify Mr. McCaig’s enduring virtues of respect, courtesy and compassion for all individuals he encountered both in his professional and everyday life. This year’s recipients are Milan Lucic and Deidra Campagna.

On July 19, 2019 the Flames acquired Milan Lucic from the Edmonton Oilers. Since then, Milan has become one of the Flames leaders both on and off the ice. Leading by example and the experience of a 14 year NHL career on the ice, Milan is both compassionate and respectful of all teammates, staff and fans he encounters through his hockey profession as well as his daily life. Originally from Vancouver, BC, Milan is quick to refer to himself as an Albertan now as he has fallen in love with the city, the mountains and Calgary’s friendly community. In addition, he and his wife Brittany are always eager to support or lend a hand to any charitable endeavor, quickly making him a fan favourite here in Calgary.

Deidra Campagna has been with Calgary Sports and Entertainment Corporation since March 2013, currently as director of human resources. Deidra operates with a high degree of professionalism and good judgement, considering the best interests of both the employee and the company when seeking solutions. She acts with compassion for all staff and is respectful of employees while working through difficult issues. Deidra also demonstrates these qualities in helping our leaders build CSEC by developing and recruiting staff to meet the goals and needs of the organization.

The Flames lost owner J.R. “Bud” McCaig 15 years ago following a lengthy battle with cancer. Mr. McCaig was a long-time member of the Flames ownership group and a great contributor to the Calgary community.

The recipients of the J.R. “Bud” McCaig Award and the Sonia & Ralph Scurfield Award receive limited-edition bronze sculptures, designed and sculpted by local Alberta artists.


The Flames also announce that they have introduced three new player awards this season to recognize excellence in hockey. The awards will be named after former members of the Flames ownership group and will be presented at the conclusion of the 2020-21 NHL season:

The Harley N. Hotchkiss Award will be presented annually to the player selected as the team’s most valuable player. Harley was one of the original owners of the Flames and a friend and mentor to the entire hockey fraternity. He was elected to the Hockey Hall of Fame in 2006. Harley passed away in June 2011.

The Daryl “Doc” Seaman Award will be presented annually to the Flames player who leads the team in scoring points at the end of the regular season. Seaman was one of six businessmen who helped bring the Flames to Calgary in 1980. He was a great visionary about the game, appreciated the Canadian value of hockey and was the Founding Governor of the Hockey Canada Foundation in 1979. Doc passed in 2009. He was inducted to the Hockey Hall of Fame in 2010.

The Clayton H. Riddell Award will be presented annually to the Flames defenseman who demonstrates throughout the regular season the greatest all-round ability at the position. Riddell joined the Flames in 2004 and was part of the dramatic run to the 2004/2005 Stanley Cup finals. The Flames and the Calgary community lost Clay in September of 2018. He was a great man of industry, sports, philanthropy and human decency. He will be remembered forever as a man “who made a difference.”